The What, How & Why of CHAKRAS

Updated: Nov 25, 2017

(briefly summarised obvs!)

CHAKRA is a Sanskrit word meaning “Wheel", describing the constantly revolving wheels of energy swirling between the physical & subtle bodies, acting like a transducer for Prana, life-force energy. They distribute Prana & are a source of physical, emotional, mental & spiritual energies.

Traditionally, there are seven main chakras associated with the physical body.

+ Root (base of the spine)

+ Sacral (lower abdomen)

+ Solar Plexus

+ Heart

+ Throat

+ Third Eye (centre of the forehead)

+ Crown (top of the head)

When these get out of balance, or blocked, the energy cannot flow freely, which can lead to physical, emotional, mental or spiritual dis-ease. This dis-ease can manifest in different ways, over various timings, but once unblocked & a clear channel is present the energy can flow freely & optimum health can be enjoyed.

Being in tune with your natural constitution, your base line state, allows you to detect these subtle changes & adjust a few things before the issue becomes more serious.

Take time to check in with yourself regularly, a daily yoga practice is great for this, & and give yourself a chance to notice how you are feeling at that time.

Each chakra is associated with specific colours. If you find yourself drawn to a particular colour, crystal or food type . . . perhaps search a little deeper to what this might mean for you.

Energy is ALL AROUND US and its does not lie!!

ROOT - Represents our foundation & feeling of being grounded.

+ Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.

+ Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, & food.

+ Physical issues: Adrenal glands, fight or flight response, bones & skeletal structure.

+ Signs of Balance

* Grounded

* Secure

* Safe

* Content

+ Symptoms of Imbalance

* Ungrounded

* Unclear of Purpose

* Fearful

* Insecure

* Confused

+ Healing practices to try: Stomping your feet can help you feel more grounded. Also Bridge pose or the Full Wheel if you can will help as well.

+ Healing Foods

* Red fruits and Vegetables such as apples or beets

* Hot spices such as Cayenne or Tabasco

* Vegetables from the ground such as potatoes or carrots

* Animal proteins such as red meat or eggs

+ Crystals associated with this chakra

* Bloodstone

* Garnet

* Red Agate

* Red Aventurine

* Red Jasper

SACRAL - Our connection & ability to accept others and new experiences.

+ Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.

+ Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

+ Physical Issues: Sexual functions, elimination & water retention

+ Signs of Balances

* Smooth Creative Flow

* Healthy Sexual Desire

* Positive Outlook

+ Symptoms of Imbalance

* Sexual Problems or Dis-function

* Fear of Sexual or Emotional Intimacy

* Infidelity

* Needy or Withdrawn

+ Healing practices to try: Doing Pelvic thrusts and the Cobra yoga pose may help

+ Healing foods

* Orange coloured foods such as tangerines & oranges

* Nuts

+ Crystals associated with this chakra: